How Much Is a Food Handling Certificate in Victoria?

The honest answer is that it depends on three things, and for one group of people the correct answer is nothing at all.

This page does not print a training fee, for a reason given below. What it does instead is set out what determines the cost, when it can be zero, what regulators actually publish about fees, and the ways people overpay.

Why there is no price on this page

A fee printed on a web page ages badly, and a stale figure is worse than none — someone budgets against it, arrives, and finds it wrong. Every course page on this site takes the same position.

What you should obtain instead is the total cost in writing, including tuition and any other applicable fees. For a Skills First place, the 2026 rules require a clear refund policy before enrolment and, before training starts, written documentation showing that the program is subsidised and the total cost to you, including tuition after the government contribution and any concession or waiver, plus any other applicable fees for services, amenities, goods or materials. Read it before you pay.

What actually determines the cost

Factor Effect
Handler or supervisor Food handler is one unit, SITXFSA005. Food Safety Supervisor is two, SITXFSA005 + SITXFSA006. Two units cost more than one
Accredited or not For handlers, non-accredited training is legally sufficient and often free
Your sector Hospitality, retail, health and community services and food processing each have their own approved units in Victoria. The wrong sector's course is a total loss
Delivery mode Face-to-face, online self-paced, or workplace delivery
Funding eligibility Victorian government subsidy can reduce it substantially, or to nil
Credit for prior learning RPL or credit transfer can remove units you already hold
Bundling Doing both units together costs less than paying for SITXFSA005 twice
Which state you need it for Victoria issues no state certificate; New South Wales does, and only an approved provider can issue it

Work out first whether you need to buy anything

The cheapest possible outcome is discovering you are not the person who has to hold the credential. Three separate questions decide that, and people routinely answer only one of them.

Question one: does your premises need a Food Safety Supervisor at all? In Victoria that is set by the premises class under s 19C of the Food Act 1984, and councils classify on the highest-risk activity carried out at the premises.

Victorian class Typical premises Food Safety Supervisor required?
Class 1 Hospitals, day procedure centres, residential aged care, children's services, meal-delivery services for vulnerable people Yes
Class 2 Restaurants, cafes, pubs, hotels, clubs, night clubs, taverns, function centres, caterers, canteens, fast food, juice bars, sushi, supermarkets and delis handling unpackaged potentially hazardous food Yes (limited community-group exemptions)
Class 3A Accommodation-getaway premises such as B&Bs, farm stays, guesthouses and motels cooking potentially hazardous food for immediate consumption; certain hot-filled acidic products Yes
Class 3 Unpackaged low-risk food, warehousing and distribution of pre-packaged food, sale of pre-packaged potentially hazardous food, shell eggs, some community-group cooking No
Class 4 Pre-packaged low-risk food, not-for-profit sausage sizzles, tea and coffee at temporary premises, whole uncut fruit and vegetables No — and Class 4 notifies rather than registers

Safe Food Victoria states the rule as Class 1, most Class 2 and Class 3A premises must have a supervisor. The Class 2 community-group exemption needs all three of: the proprietor is a community group; the activity runs no more than two consecutive days at a time; and most of the food handlers are volunteers.

There is a second Victorian exemption that is genuinely a cost lever and almost never mentioned. Under s 19GA(2) a food safety supervisor is not required where the premises uses a quality assurance food safety program that includes competency-based or accredited training for staff. If you already run such a program, ask the council that registered you whether you fall inside it before buying a supervisor course. Note the condition: the training element is part of the exemption, not an optional extra.

Question two: are you a food handler or the supervisor? A venue needs one Food Safety Supervisor, appointed before a prescribed activity begins and remaining reasonably available — on site or easily contactable, for example by phone. Everyone else who handles food is a food handler, and that is a much cheaper obligation. Buying the supervisor course for every staff member is the most expensive mistake on this page.

And if you are the owner, s 19GA(3) says expressly that the supervisor may be the proprietor. For a small venue that is often the cheapest compliant answer — one course rather than one course plus the risk of the trained person leaving. But note the third limb of the Victorian definition before you nominate anyone else: under s 19G the supervisor must have the ability and the authority to direct other food handlers, as well as having met an approved competency standard. Paying to train a junior casual does not produce a valid supervisor in Victoria, however good the course.

Question three: which sector are you in? This is the question that turns a small overpayment into a total loss, and it is set out further down.

The free route most people do not know exists

This is the single most useful thing on this page.

For food handlers, Standard 3.2.2A does not require the training to be nationally accredited, and does not require it to have a named unit code. It requires training covering four topics — safe handling of food, food contamination, cleaning and sanitising of premises and equipment, and personal hygiene — or that the handler possess skills and knowledge commensurate with the activity. No refresher period is mandated, and the business is not required to keep records of it. Only the supervisor needs a certificate from an RTO or a state-recognised organisation.

Note what the alternative to training actually is: commensurate skills and knowledge, not being supervised by someone who has done the training. That older framing predates Standard 3.2.2A, which commenced on 8 December 2023, and it is still repeated widely.

So a free, non-accredited course satisfies the law for a food handler. So can competency-based training, in-house education, a food safety induction completed at another food business, or relevant previous industry experience in the food industry — all four are recognised routes.

If all you need is to be lawfully able to handle food, you may not need to pay anything.

What paying for SITXFSA005 buys you is different, and worth being clear about:

That is an employability argument, not a compliance one. Both are legitimate; you should know which one you are buying.

The Food Safety Supervisor level is different again. There the certificate is mandatory, must come from an RTO or a state-recognised body, and must have been issued within the preceding five years. There is no free route to that.

And one saving that is not a saving

"We are Class 3, so we need nothing" and "we are not category one or two, so none of this applies" are both half right and both expensive if relied on. Clause 3 of Standard 3.2.2 has applied to every Australian food business since 2000: the business must ensure persons undertaking or supervising food handling operations have skills in, and knowledge of, food safety and food hygiene matters commensurate with their work activities.

It is outcome-based — no course, no certificate, no unit code, no refresher — so it costs nothing to satisfy if the competence is genuinely there. What it costs is the ability to say "we had no obligation" if it is not. Standard 3.2.2A added a prescriptive layer on top for categories one and two; it did not replace clause 3.

Why the accredited unit is not a dead end

One reason the accredited version is better value than it first looks: SITXFSA005 is the gateway unit for the whole food and beverage stream, and within that stream it gates nine units off one.

Unit Prerequisite
SITHFAB022 Clean and tidy bar areas SITXFSA005
SITHFAB023 Operate a bar SITXFSA005 and RSA SITHFAB021
SITHFAB024 Prepare and serve non-alcoholic beverages SITXFSA005
SITHFAB025 Prepare and serve espresso coffee SITXFSA005
SITHFAB026 Provide room service SITXFSA005
SITHFAB027 Serve food and beverage SITXFSA005
SITHFAB030 Prepare and serve cocktails SITXFSA005, RSA SITHFAB021 and SITHFAB023
SITHFAB034 Provide table service of food and beverage SITXFSA005 and RSA SITHFAB021
SITHFAB035 Provide silver service SITXFSA005

Keep that figure scoped to the food and beverage stream: across the wider SIT package SITXFSA005 also sits in front of cookery, patisserie and kitchen units, so a package-wide total would be a different number about a different set.

So paying once for SITXFSA005 also unlocks barista, beverage and table-service training later, and none of that is available to someone holding only a free non-accredited certificate — a prerequisite can only be satisfied by the unit itself. Four units in the stream carry two or more prerequisites: SITHFAB023 Operate a bar and SITHFAB034 each carry two, while SITHFAB030 Prepare and serve cocktails carries three and SITHFAB039 Manage the sale or service of wine carries three of its own. The register attaches RSA to SITHFAB034 because it covers the higher-order service techniques of a senior food and beverage attendant, where SITHFAB027 covers fundamentals for casual dining. RSA itself reaches just as far as the food safety unit: SITHFAB021 is a prerequisite to nine units of its own, so the two gate the same number of units in the stream.

For scale on what else is available, our scope of registration carries 17 current qualifications, 81 current skill sets and 579 current units, all at the extent Deliver and assess. SITSS00068 and SITSS00069 have been on that scope since 10 June 2022.

The most expensive mistake: buying the wrong sector's course

Worth a section of its own, because unlike everything else on this page it is not an overpayment — it is a total loss, and you find out at the inspection rather than at the invoice.

Safe Food Victoria publishes minimum competency standards by food sector, and these are the standards "approved in writing" that the Victorian definition of a supervisor refers to:

Victorian food sector Approved minimum
Hospitality — restaurants, cafes, hotels SITXFSA005 and SITXFSA006, or SIRRFSA001
Retail — supermarkets, convenience stores, delicatessens SIRRFSA001, or both hospitality units
Health — hospitals HLTFSE001 + HLTFSE005 + HLTFSE007, Release 1 of each
Community services — childcare centres, nursing homes, Meals on Wheels all three health units
Food processing — manufacturers, flour mills, canneries, packers, bakers, breweries, wineries FBPFSY2002

Four consequences, all of them financial.

If you run a hospital, aged care or childcare kitchen in Victoria, the hospitality units are not your units. Those are Class 1 premises, and Safe Food Victoria publishes the three HLTFSE units as the minimum for them. Queensland publishes the same three. A Victorian childcare centre that sends staff to a standard hospitality food safety course has bought training that does not meet its own state's published standard — and will have to buy again.

And we cannot sell you that set. Of the three health units, only HLTFSE001 is on our scope of registration. HLTFSE005, HLTFSE007 and FBPFSY2002 are not. So if your sector is health, community services or food processing, this is not the provider for the supervisor requirement, and you should choose one whose scope on training.gov.au carries all the units your sector needs. Better to read that here than to find it out afterwards.

The hospitality pair is the more portable buy inside Victoria. Safe Food Victoria accepts SITXFSA005 + SITXFSA006 and SIRRFSA001 as alternatives to each other for both the hospitality and retail sectors. So the hospitality pair covers a Victorian deli or supermarket as well as a restaurant, and someone who may move between the two should prefer it.

And do not buy a unit that is no longer offered. SIRRFSA001 carries an end date of 28 June 2024 on our scope. It remains a unit people hold and that Safe Food Victoria still names, but it is not one we enrol anyone in today. A code appearing in a regulator's table is not the same as a course you can book.

One more precision, because it is commonly stated wrongly and could send you to the wrong provider: Standard 3.2.2A names no sector units at all. The health and community services requirement is a state determination. New South Wales names no sector units of its own, and Western Australia publishes HLTSS00061 — the three HLTFSE units bundled as a skill set — as an accepted equivalent rather than a mandate. Safe Food Victoria also confirms there is no Victorian requirement to train beyond the minimum competencies listed, so a provider upselling an extra module for Victorian compliance is selling you something Victoria has not asked for.

Victorian government-subsidised training

Victoria funds vocational training through the Skills First program, and we deliver government-subsidised courses under it. Eligibility is set by the Victorian Government, not by the provider, and it is narrower than people expect. The test has two parts:

Citizenship and residency. You must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident. (Some visa categories are treated differently; check.)

The upskilling rule. If you were 20 or over at the reference date, you must not already hold a qualification higher than Certificate I. This is the condition that disqualifies most people who ask, and it surprises graduates in particular — a degree in an unrelated field can rule you out of a subsidised hospitality course.

Enrolment limits also apply: you generally cannot commence more than two Victorian Government subsidised courses in a calendar year, or be concurrently enrolled in two or more, with Foundation Skills courses excluded from the count.

The Victorian Government publishes an online eligibility indicator — use that rather than a provider's summary, including this one, because the rules change and only the Government's tool is authoritative. Then confirm with us what subsidised places are actually available for the course you want, because scope and availability are separate questions from your eligibility.

One thing worth saying plainly: subsidised does not mean free in every case. Concession rates, full-fee rates, and materials and services fees all exist, and they should all be disclosed in the written cost information you receive before training starts. See the best government funded hospitality course and launch your hospitality career with Victoria's government funded training for how the subsidy works on the larger qualifications.

The refresher is where Victoria is cheaper than Queensland

The Food Safety Supervisor certificate recurs on a five-year cycle, so the cost of the refresh matters as much as the cost of the first course. Here the states differ, and the difference is money.

Victoria New South Wales Queensland Western Australia
State certificate issued? No Yes No No
RTO needs state approval? No Yes — NSW Food Authority, Food Act 2003 s 106H No No — its published list is a convenience listing, not an approval register
Validity 5 years 5 years 5 years 5 years
Mandatory state-specific content No Yes — four key focus areas No No
RPL accepted for the five-yearly refresh Yes, and encouraged Not addressed; a recertification pathway is specified No — expressly excluded not stated
Recertification window if it lapses No fixed window 90 days, then the full course, through an approved RTO that offers recertification Full course, or a refresher where offered not stated
Interstate certificates accepted Yes No Yes Yes

That RPL row is the practical saving. In Victoria, recognition of prior learning is available and encouraged for the five-yearly refresh, which can make the second and subsequent cycles cheaper than the first — and Safe Food Victoria's own page says prior training "does not usually" need repeating. In Queensland it is expressly excluded, so the full course repeats every five years. Raise RPL before you re-enrol, not after.

The recertification-window row is the other one with a price attached, and it only bites in New South Wales: let a NSW certificate go more than 90 days past expiry and the cheaper recertification route disappears entirely, leaving the full course. Diarising the expiry date is the least expensive thing on this page.

One honest limit on what we can sell you

If the certificate you need is the New South Wales Food Safety Supervisor certificate, we cannot issue it. New South Wales requires the RTO to be approved by the NSW Food Authority under section 106H of the Food Act 2003 (NSW), and we are not on that approved provider list. An approved NSW RTO issues two separate documents — the national Statement of Attainment and the NSW FSS certificate — and keeping only the Statement of Attainment does not satisfy section 106G. That is the classic New South Wales error.

This matters on a cost page because the most expensive purchase is the one that does not do the job. If you are working in New South Wales, buy from a provider on the NSW Food Authority list — and check the provider's Food Authority approval number, which is a different number from its national RTO code. If you are working in Victoria, no such approval is required and the RTO's Statement of Attainment is the compliance artefact. See food safety supervisor certificate and how to get a food safety supervisor certificate.

One related point about the cost of getting it wrong, because Victorian operators often assume the worst case is a fine. No monetary penalty attaches to s 19GA of the Food Act 1984 — the requirement to have a supervisor. The Victorian sanction is registration-based: refusal of registration or renewal, or revocation or suspension of the premises' registration. New South Wales and Queensland both fine you instead, at up to 50 penalty units for an individual and, in NSW, 100 for a corporation. So Victoria is not the lenient jurisdiction here; it just prices the failure differently, and the price is the business rather than a sum of money.

What regulators do publish about fees and timing

Providers' fees vary. Two things come from regulators rather than marketing, and both are useful as sanity checks:

New South Wales caps what an approved RTO may charge to issue the state FSS certificate, separately from the training fee, and requires the certificate to be issued within 10 working days of successful completion. If you are in NSW and a provider is charging a separate certificate fee, check the current cap with the Food Authority rather than accepting the provider's figure — and note this is a NSW matter only. Victoria issues no state certificate at all, so there is no equivalent fee here to cap.

The assessment requirements are the real test of a price, and they are published, which is more useful than any benchmark figure. See the next section.

Why a very cheap course can be the expensive option

The assessment requirements are published, which lets you judge whether a price is plausible.

SITXFSA005 requires hygienic food handling demonstrated in line with organisational procedures, with each of four practices shown on at least three occasions: correct hand-washing; appropriate use of uniform and personal protective equipment; effective personal health and hygiene practices; and hygienic food service. Plus the procedures to report unsafe hygiene practices.

SITXFSA006 requires hazard control at nine critical control points — receiving, storing, preparing, processing, displaying, serving, packaging, transporting, disposing — plus the procedure to calibrate a temperature probe and the procedure to report contamination incidents.

Four practices across three occasions each, or nine control points and probe calibration, is not a five-minute exercise. A price that implies it is should prompt a question about what is actually being assessed, and the useful question is not "how many hours" but "across how many assessment occasions is hand washing observed". The two units are not variations on a theme: SITXFSA005 is about personal hygiene practice, and SITXFSA006 is about the whole system and its control points. Probe calibration is the single most valuable thing a small venue takes out of the supervisor course, because an uncalibrated probe makes every temperature record on the premises worthless.

The business-side cost people forget

If you are the owner rather than the employee, training is not the only cost that Standard 3.2.2A creates, and the other one is administrative.

The Standard sets three tools, and the clause numbers make the split clear. Food handler training (3.2.2A—10) and the Food Safety Supervisor (—11) apply to category one and category two businesses. The third tool — substantiation records (—12) — applies to category one only. That one clause is the whole difference in obligation between the two categories.

The categories are activity-based, not audience-based. Category one is a caterer or food service operation that processes unpackaged potentially hazardous food into food that is both potentially hazardous and ready to eat: restaurants, cafes, pubs, bakeries, hospitals, aged care, childcare. If it has a kitchen and cooks, it is category one. Category two is the retail sale of ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food the business did not make — delis, butchers — where slicing, weighing, repacking, reheating and hot-holding do not count as making it.

What triggers any of it is a prescribed activity: the handling by the business of any unpackaged potentially hazardous food that is either used in preparing ready-to-eat food to be served to a consumer, or is itself ready-to-eat food intended for retail sale by that business. Both the training and the supervisor have to be in place before that begins, which is a scheduling cost on an opening as much as a fee.

Category one substantiation records cover receipt at correct temperature, storage under temperature control, process steps achieving pathogen reduction, minimising time at growth-permitting temperatures, cooling and reheating within specified timeframes, display and transport under temperature control, and cleaning and sanitising of food-contact surfaces and equipment. They must be kept for three months after being made and be accessible at the premises. A business may demonstrate compliance by other means, in which case an authorised officer may then require records.

That is a staff-time cost rather than a course fee, and it is the one that recurs weekly. Safe Food Victoria directs businesses to the FoodSmart tool to build a food safety program. See understanding Standard 3.2.2A and how long do I need to keep records for.

Seven ways people overpay

  1. Paying for accredited handler training when free non-accredited training would satisfy the law — and you do not need the transcript record.
  2. Paying for SITXFSA005 twice. If you will need the supervisor level, do both units together. SITXFSA005 is common to both, so doing them separately means paying for it once and then not getting credit for it because nobody raised credit transfer.
  3. Buying the supervisor course when you only need handler training — or, more expensively, the reverse: buying a one-day handler course believing it makes you the venue's supervisor. It does not, in any state.
  4. Buying the wrong sector's course. The health and community services set is three HLTFSE units in Victoria and Queensland, not the hospitality pair. That is not an overpayment, it is a total loss.
  5. Training the wrong person. In Victoria s 19G requires the supervisor to have the authority to direct other food handlers, not only the competency standard. Train the person who actually runs the kitchen, or the proprietor, who s 19GA(3) expressly permits.
  6. Not asking about RPL. Recognition of prior learning is a genuine assessment against the same evidence, and RTOs must offer it under Standard 1.6 of the Outcome Standards for RTOs. Credit transfer is the separate process under Standard 1.7, for whole units already completed at any RTO, with no reassessment. Both are raised at the pre-training review, required under Standard 2.2 of the Outcome Standards for RTOs — name the instrument, because the National Code 2018 also has a Standard 2.2 covering a different obligation. We first verify the evidence and equivalence, check that the units fit your training product, and check for licensing or regulatory restrictions before granting credit. See ASQA’s credit-transfer guidance.
  7. Creating a second USI. Recover your existing identifier rather than creating another. For nationally recognised training, a Unique Student Identifier (USI) is generally required before a qualification or Statement of Attainment can be issued, unless an applicable exemption applies. See the official USI exemption guidance. A USI is free at usi.gov.au. If you already have one, recover it rather than creating another.

An eighth, which costs more than all of these: paying a provider that is not an RTO. Only a Registered Training Organisation can issue a nationally recognised Statement of Attainment. If a provider cannot give you an RTO number you can check on training.gov.au, what you receive is not nationally recognised. We are RTO 3722.

What we deliver in Victoria

We hold SITSS00068 Food Handling and SITSS00069 Food Safety Supervision on our scope of registration, both since 10 June 2022, and are registered to deliver in Victoria. They are two different skill sets for two different obligations — the difference is exactly one unit, SITXFSA006 — and the names are close enough to be mixed up at the point of purchase, so check the code on the invoice.

That covers the hospitality sector, and in Victoria the retail sector too. It does not cover health and community services or food processing, because only HLTFSE001 of the three health units is on our scope, and FBPFSY2002 is not on it at all.

For current fees, subsidised availability and concession rates, ask us directly on +61 3 9654 1554 or melbourne@cht.edu.au, and ask for the total cost in writing. For a Skills First place, the 2026 rules require a clear refund policy before enrolment and, before training starts, written documentation showing that the program is subsidised and the total cost to you, including tuition after the government contribution and any concession or waiver, plus any other applicable fees for services, amenities, goods or materials.

About us

We are Complete Hospitality Training, RTO 3722, CRICOS 04242E. Level 3, 28 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne VIC 3000, and 410 Elizabeth Street, Surry Hills NSW 2010. Contact melbourne@cht.edu.au or +61 3 9654 1554.

See also what food safety certificate do I need, what is a food handling certificate, who needs a food handling certificate in Victoria, why are there so many certificates and regulations in the food industry and all courses.

We link to the relevant course and regulatory sources in this guide. Check those sources for current requirements, and confirm course availability, delivery, fees and entry requirements with us before enrolling.

How much is it, really?

Ask us for the current figure. This page does not publish one because a stale fee is worse than none — but ask for the total cost in writing before you commit. For a Skills First place, the 2026 rules require a clear refund policy before enrolment and, before training starts, written documentation showing that the program is subsidised and the total cost to you, including tuition after the government contribution and any concession or waiver, plus any other applicable fees for services, amenities, goods or materials.

Can I get it free?

Possibly, in two different ways. If you only need to lawfully handle food, a free non-accredited course covering the four required topics satisfies Standard 3.2.2A. Separately, if you meet Skills First eligibility, subsidised training can reduce the cost substantially.

Do I have to pay for an accredited certificate?

Not for compliance as a food handler. Yes, if you want the Statement of Attainment, the transcript record and credit transfer — or if you need the Food Safety Supervisor level. The accredited unit is also the only route into the nine food and beverage units that list SITXFSA005 as a prerequisite, from SITHFAB022 through to SITHFAB035, because a prerequisite can only be met by the unit itself.

Does my premises even need a Food Safety Supervisor?

In Victoria that depends on the premises class under s 19C of the Food Act 1984. Class 1, most Class 2 and Class 3A require one; Classes 3 and 4 do not, and Class 4 notifies rather than registers. Councils classify on the highest-risk activity at the premises.

Is there any other way out of the supervisor cost?

One. Under s 19GA(2) an FSS is not required where the premises uses a quality assurance food safety program that includes competency-based or accredited training for staff. Check it with your council rather than assuming, because the training element is part of the exemption.

Can I just be the supervisor myself?

In Victoria, yes — s 19GA(3) expressly permits the proprietor to hold the role, and for a small venue that is often the cheapest compliant answer.

We are Class 3. Do we need to buy anything?

No supervisor course. But clause 3 of Standard 3.2.2 still applies and has since 2000 — staff must have skills and knowledge commensurate with their work. It costs nothing to satisfy if the competence is genuinely there, and there is no free pass if it is not.

I work in childcare or aged care. Is the cheap hospitality course enough?

No, and this is the most expensive mistake on the page. Safe Food Victoria publishes HLTFSE001, HLTFSE005 and HLTFSE007 as the minimum for health and community services, and those settings are Class 1 premises. Only HLTFSE001 is on our scope, so use a provider whose scope carries all three.

Can I use the retail unit instead?

In Victoria, yes — Safe Food Victoria accepts SIRRFSA001 and the two hospitality units as alternatives for both hospitality and retail. But SIRRFSA001 carries an end date of 28 June 2024 on our scope, so it is a unit people hold rather than one we enrol you in today.

Who is eligible for Skills First?

Australian citizens and permanent residents, with an upskilling condition: if you were 20 or over at the reference date you must not already hold a qualification higher than Certificate I. Enrolment limits also apply. Use the Victorian Government's online eligibility indicator rather than any provider's summary.

I have a degree. Does that help?

For Skills First, it usually hurts — holding a qualification higher than Certificate I can disqualify you from a subsidised place, even in an unrelated field.

Is the online version cheaper?

Often, and it is the same unit producing the same Statement of Attainment. Confirm with us.

Is there a NSW-style certificate fee in Victoria?

No. New South Wales caps what an approved RTO may charge to issue its own state FSS certificate, separately from the training fee. Victoria issues no state certificate at all, so there is no such fee here — the RTO's Statement of Attainment is the compliance artefact.

Can you issue me the NSW Food Safety Supervisor certificate?

No. New South Wales requires the RTO to be approved by the NSW Food Authority, and we are not on that list. If you need the NSW certificate, buy from a provider that is, and check its Food Authority approval number as well as its RTO code.

Will my employer pay?

Many do, particularly for the nominated supervisor, since the compliance duty is the business's. The credential still belongs to you and stays against your USI.

Can I get credit for experience instead of paying?

RPL is an assessment rather than a waiver, but for someone with real kitchen experience it can be the cheaper route. Raise it before enrolling.

Is the five-yearly refresh as expensive as the first course?

In Victoria, not necessarily — RPL is available and encouraged, and Safe Food Victoria says prior training does not usually need repeating. In Queensland it is expressly excluded, so the full course repeats. In New South Wales the cheaper recertification route disappears 90 days after expiry. That difference is worth knowing before you move states.

What if I need both handler and supervisor?

Do them together as the SITSS00069 skill set. Doing them separately risks paying for SITXFSA005 twice.

How do I know a cheap course is legitimate?

It names the unit code, names an RTO number you can verify on training.gov.au, issues a Statement of Attainment rather than a "Certificate of Completion", and its assessment is plausible against the published requirements — four practices on three occasions each, or nine control points and probe calibration.

Does the certificate expire, so will I pay again?

Not at handler level — no refresher is mandated. The Food Safety Supervisor certificate must have been issued within the preceding five years, so that one recurs. See how long does a food handling certificate last in Victoria (/news/how-long-does-a-food-handling-certificate-last-in-victoria/).

Images on This Page